Latest News

Crypto Wallet MetaMask Surpasses 10M Monthly Active Users

The blockchain technology company ConsenSys announced on Tuesday (Aug. 31) that its MetaMask cryptocurrency wallet has surpassed 10 million monthly active users. This milestone marks a 19-fold growth since July of last year, and “positions MetaMask as the leading non-custodial wallet by users globally,” the company said in a news release.

MetaMask is a mobile app and browser extension that works as a cryptocurrency wallet for interactions with the Ethereum blockchain and Ethereum-compatible networks such as Polygon, Arbitrum and Optimism, per the release.

“MetaMask defined a new kind of cryptocurrency wallet, where users don’t just interact with currencies, but with decentralized applications, and we are constantly making these new kinds of applications more safe and accessible to a broader audience,” said Dan Finlay, MetaMask co-founder. “We’re letting users explore new ways of establishing trust on the internet.”

ConsenSys says MetaMask’s growth has followed that of Ethereum’s ecosystem. Just $2 billion in crypto assets were committed to decentralized finance (DeFi) in 2019, compared to the more than $80 billion supported by Ethereum today.

Late 2019 saw Google ban MetaMask from its Play Store — citing a policy against cryptocurrency apps mining on mobile devices — but reversed its position just days later.

Read more: Google Enables MetaMask Ethereum Wallet on Google Play

The launch of token swaps on the mobile version of MetaMask in March of this year also helped to “exponentially” accelerate growth in users.

MetaMask, which was launched five years ago, “has been a central catalyst in the adoption of decentralized applications on Ethereum,” the news release said.

The launch of a mobile version of MetaMask last September has played a key role in widening its audience, attracting new users from places such as the Philippines, Vietnam, China, India, Indonesia, Thailand and Brazil.

As of this month, the top 15 countries using MetaMask include the Philippines, United States, Vietnam, United Kingdom, China, India, Russia, Brazil, Indonesia, Thailand, Turkey, Germany, France, Canada and Spain.

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in:Latest News